poems

All I want for Christmas

Apologies on the repeat post guys as this was originally posted on the end of a rather long thread to Ashleigh Money Saving expert’s competition, however I think it should stand alone as a poem and not just an add on. Ashleigh’s draw is on the 5th December if you haven’t entered already Good luck!

All I want for Christmas (a response to Ashleigh Money Saving Expert)

17/11/2014

All I want for Christmas is a most amazing feast.
A short dot of red wine and to free the middle east.

All I want for Christmas is to know I’m doing well,
Making universal love a life you live to tell.
Falling autumn leaves into a winter wishing well.

All I want for Christmas is a song we’ll share together,
Resounding through our voices a million accents joined forever.
Frosty church windows and a crunch beneath my feet.
Any faith my friend I’ll not fight for rain nor sleet.

All I want for Christmas is turkey amongst my choices,
And your freedom to air objection kindly with your voices.
Let’s make a child smile, enough with Trojan horses.

All I want for Christmas is freedom for the free.
A single solidarity, a unity to be.
Apart we rain down arrows, bullets and rockets.
Together we managed to land on a comet.

All I want for Christmas is your parcel here donated.
Give it to a desperate child who’s life was once ill fated.
Make that little un smile if just for Christmas day,
And hope another million gifts will somehow fall their way.

All I want for Christmas is for everyone to love.
It matters not the day or time just know you are enough.

Copyright G.P Williamson 2014

Standard

Leave a Reply

