poems

Mirror, Mirror on the wall

Mirror, mirror on the wall
1/12/14

Mirror, mirror on the wall
What am I but a cannonball?
Grey in face, heavy in years.
Speckles of grey in an all brown beard.

Mirror, mirror on the wall
What am I but a cannonball?
Two sunken eyes both grey and dull
Lines down my cheeks like a waterfall.

Mirror, mirror on the wall
What am I but a cannonball?
My ears are flat and baldness calls,
My tongue is stained and my teeth have flaws!

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
What do I bother with you at all?
Out with the old and in with the new
Show me an image all shiny and new.

Copyright G.P Williamson 2014

Standard

Leave a Reply

