poems

where shadows fall…

Where shadows fall… – Competition entry
15/12/14

Where shadows fall…
Different this year.
No spinning crystalline wind chime.
Pride of place astride your favourite tree.

Different this year.
My crippled old rogues hands broke the baubles we bought as one.
Lights shine like broken stars reflecting my pupils as I bleed.
Where shadows fall…

Different this year.
The microwave dings a chime which no longer irritates me.
Our chats once filled the emptiness where blackbirds hunt remains.
Where shadows fall…

Different this year.
I moved your photo again. I notice it more now.
We saved money on the heating bill at last.
The whiskey warms me in places.
Where shadows fall…

Different this year.
Politics are the same dull unending lies.
The washing has piled up.
I kept your cardigan.
Where shadows fall…

Different this year.
I forgot the cocoa you always kept for the carollers, they asked for you.
They sang to your ashes beneath our wedding picture, then left me alone.
Where shadows fall…

Different this year.
I see you everywhere.
I can’t do it anymore.
I love you.
We’ll celebrate new years together.
Where shadows fall…

Copyright G.P Williamson

Standard

Leave a Reply

