poems

Humility

Humility

8/03/15

I swallowed a lesson in humility just the other day.

He bought a big issue.

I looked the other way.

All I’ve achieved vanished momentarily and I was homeless once more.

He was back my master and I the student.

Then wham like the realisation of being shot after the impact, I was back. At what part of my journey did I sacrifice morality for being self assured?

My old friend said nothing. He simply smiled and raised a glass to the ether,

unaware of his teaching’s. More grain through oak than habit.

I learnt to bend like sapling, grow like tree, swallow the tides, exhale to be free. I picked “I’m important”, I chose “I can.” At what point did I turn my back on man?

He leaned in close “you experianced Astral travel?” A little laugh and my stories unravelled.

It’s hard as hell to explain my friend, But we’re all interconnected, we are one in the end. I explained with a smile, for the good talk was back.

It filled me with Joy, that I could share just that.

I swallowed a lesson in humility just the other day.

He bought a big issue.

I looked the other way.

Copyright G.P Williamson 2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

