poems

Repeat performance

leavescommonswikimediaorg

image – Wikimedia.org

Repeat Performance 29/6/15

The seagulls bark on a bench in a place I won’t see today.

Pecking at chips that aren’t mine whilst a black cat idly crosses my path.

Cranky because I didn’t listen to my inner voice.

Cranky because my intuition wasn’t strong enough.

I kick the leaves a fountain of colour swims like a shoal of fish in the wind.

The yellows peek through like every mirrored memory,

taunting a reaction to which I refuse to respond.

Each step brings me closer to success I recite booting another mountain of leaves.

A twig wrestles its way past my cheek cutting deep the anguish.

I bring this on myself and it’s in my choice I relish.

Having gone to the place I’ve been so many times before,

I smile as the sunlight warms my eyes.

Copyright G.P Williamson 2015

Standard

2 thoughts on “Repeat performance

Leave a Reply

