poems

Let me explain…

Let me explain…

26/07/2015

Your expectations do not justify a reaction.

I am not a

chit-chat

talk behind your back,

mad as a hatter

who framed him for that?

Kinda character.

I won’t rephrase

your paraphrasing.

Dance to the tune

of your centre staging.

Share my voice with your out of tune ilk

or take the mick over a drink.

I can’t stoop to bother to single out

if he’s better than her or his brother.

It’s not worth the cost of my own humanity,

my moral sense or alter fine reality.

My word is my bond.

My facts show the lines,

Alterations to reason

transform business to crimes.

Paint a picture that’s flawed

and dealt out with begrudges.

It’s set up to fail

with clear visible smudges.

Map out a new story

and I’ll praise your fiction.

I won’t question why I

am your favourite addiction.

I sleep soundly at night.

I’m proud of what I’ve done.

Just lay down your cards and let’s see who’s won.

I understand chess.

I’ve won medals – there’s plenty.

Static wooden figures,

It’s just a game – they’re empty.

I don’t play with people.

I have self respect as a man.

so let me explain,

you do what you can.

It’s not worth the cost of my own humanity,

My moral sense or alter fine reality.

My word is my bond.

My facts show the lines.

Alterations to reason

turn business to crimes.

Copyright G.P Williamson 2015.

Standard

Leave a Reply

